Year 10 Bude Residential 2014


165 Year 10 pupils proved they were ready to take up the challenge of embarking upon their GCSEs as the Year 10 Bude residential once more proved a huge success. At Park School there has been a long held belief that education is not limited to the confines of the classroom and our residential education programme is a key component of our attempts to develop the self-confidence, resilience, and independence of our pupils. By taking the pupils to Bude we hope to empower them and allow them to develop the skills to realise their full potential.

The Year 10 residential has been a Park tradition for more than 20 years and the current pupils more than lived up to the markers laid down by their predecessors. The sun shone and so did the pupils as they threw themselves into the wide range of activities on offer.

The pupils spent four days working with the superb Activity Staff at Adventure International in Bude and undertook a series of physical,  and mental  challenges including abseiling, climbing, body boarding, surfing, mountain boarding, , team trail, canoeing and kayaking. Once again the evening events were a huge success, the fancy dress disco saw a wide range of excellent costumes as each year seems to raise the bar from the year before and  karaoke saw some great performances from pupils but few will forget the performances of Mr Cross and Ms Tregaskes.

Once more we are very proud of the positive feedback received from the Adventure International Staff regarding the behaviour and attitude of the pupils and would like to thank all those who took part for making it such a success.

For information about the 2015  Bude Residential for the current Year 9 please contact Mr Blannin (Rm 66).

The winning team were Group H

Molly Lockett; Izzy Cousins; Corey Passmore; Jack Hurved; Ella Jones; Sam Lisle; Dylan Sutton; Taylor Vaughan Williams; Kurtis Weston; Jenna Causey; Sophie Holland; Will Bird.

Whilst the individual award winners were as follows:

Wally Award –This award is for pupils who have kept up the spirits of their group.

Aidon Janes, CallumWilson, Declan Smith, Daisy Totterdell

The Bottle Award – This award is for pupils who showed exceptional bravery to overcome personal fears.

Madison Matravers, Olivia Edwards, Patrick Jump, Trevor Searle

The Superstar award is for pupils who demonstrated leadership qualities and excelled in a range of activities whilst never allowing their spirits to drop.

Armand Karzcmarz, Rhianna Bradford, Lucy Wells, Gemma Foster